A Cultural Experience

One of the more amusing things I’ve been asked to do here in Kland is prepare cultural lessons.  Awhile back my Gibuk Co-Teacher asked me to make a cultural food lesson. I eventually decided that a ‘picnic’ theme would be easiest, and we made ham and cheese, and pbj sandwiches, and cut up apples and dipped them in peanut butter. (Over which the students absolutely lost their minds at this MADNESS- apples and PEANUT BUTTER?? How absurd!)

For the end of of spring semester, we made banana splits. Summer, ice cream sundaes, right? It’s not like I can do hot dogs and hamburgers with them. Last week, my co wanted to ensure that I had a Halloween class in the makings and yes, yes ma’am I sure do.

This morning she came up to me, informed me that she was writing some sort of report, and requested I write down all the recipes I used with the students last semester. My first thought was : “what recipes..?” Turns out she wanted written recipes- as in ingredients AND instructions- for a ham and cheese sandwich, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, apples and peanut butter, and a banana split.

One response to “A Cultural Experience

  1. Hmmmm… well with the exception of the banana split, I believe the ingredients list is essentially the name of said food item. I mean, “sandwich” implies bread, and the rest is just what you put on it… Difficult? Maybe. Maybe…

Leave a comment